Prince William Elected Officials Officially Take Office

Prince William Welcomes First Black Chair


More than 200 members of the community gathered Tuesday evening, Jan. 2, at the Hylton Performing Arts Center to witness the swearing-in ceremony for the Prince William Board of County Supervisors and the county's constitutional officers.

The ceremony started with the presentation of colors by the county's Joint Public Safety Honor Guard and the singing of the National Anthem by Karen-Leigh Albert. The new and returning officials then took their oaths of office with friends and family joining them on the stage.

Newly sworn board members include:

  • Chair At-Large Deshundra Jefferson-D
  • Brentsville District Supervisor Tom Gordy-R
  • Coles District Supervisor Yesli Vega-R
  • Gainesville District Supervisor Bob Weir-R
  • Neabsco District Supervisor Victor Angry-D
  • Occoquan District Supervisor Kenny Boddye-D
  • Potomac District Supervisor Andrea Bailey-D
  • Woodbridge District Supervisor Margaret Angela Franklin-D

Prince William Clerk of the Circuit Court Jacqueline Smith, Commonwealth’s Attorney Amy Ashworth and Sheriff Glendell Hill also took their oaths of office during the ceremony.

After taking their oath of office, the elected officials received their certificate of election from the county's Electoral Board.

The ceremony wrapped up with Prince William Poet Laureate Michelle Garcia reciting her original poem “A Good World,” and the crowd joined Karen Leigh-Albert as she sang God Bless America.

Prince William County, Board of County Supervisors, swearing in, Char, Deshundra Jefferson, Chairwoman, Chair At-Large Deshundra Jefferson, Brentsville District, Supervisor, Tom Gordy, Coles District, Supervisor Yesli Vega, Gainesville District, Supervisor Bob Weir, Neabsco District, Supervisor Victor Angry, Occoquan District Supervisor Kenny Boddye-D, Potomac District, Supervisor Andrea Bailey, Woodbridge District, Supervisor Margaret Angela Franklin, Prince William Clerk of the Circuit Court Jacqueline Smith, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Amy Ashworth, Sheriff Glendell Hill, Occoquan, Brentsville, Neabsco, Prince William, Virginia, supervisors, sheriff, Commonwealth Attorney, Potomac, Woodbridge, Hylton Center, Manassas, oath, elected officials, January 2, 2024